2018 HPLA
    International High Power Laser Ablation Symposium
    26 - 29 March 2018
    Santa Fe, New Mexico
  • Who Attends HPLA
    Colorado School of Mines, USA
    EUVA, Hiratsuka, Kanagawa , Japan
    Flight Unlimited, USA
    AEgis Technologies Group, Inc., USA
    Instituto de Optica, Spain
    Ultramet, USA
    Airbus Defense and Space
    BohnLaser Consult, Germany
    Institute of Electronics, Belarus
    Pusan National University, Korea
    University of Virginia, USA
    Corning, Inc., USA
    Tokai University , Japan
    FTMC, Lithuania
    Engineering Sciences, Inc., USA
    Lyon University, France
    Jacobs Sverdrup Technology, Inc., USA
    Washington State University, USA
    Phoenix Xray Systems, Germany
    Johns Hopkins University, USA
  • in Santa Fe, New Mexico
    Join us for the 2018 International HPLA Symposium
    on 26 - 29 March 2018
    at the historic
    La Fonda on the Plaza
  • Technical Exhibits & Poster Sessions
    Keynotes & Leaders
    Expert Speakers
    Network with Peers & Leadership

Welcome to the 2018 HPLA

International High Power Laser Ablation Symposium

Join us for the 2018 International High Power Laser Ablation Symposium on 26 - 29 March 2018 in Santa Fe, New Mexico at the historic La Fonda on the Plaza.

About the Symposium

Since 1998, the International High Power Laser Ablation Symposia have provided a unique forum for exchange of ideas on the physics and application of high power laser-materials interaction, including advances in relevant high power laser sources and problems of beam propagation and detection, in a collegial atmosphere. This will be our twelfth meeting. The HPLA series is one of the first scientific conferences to be organized around a broad physical phenomenon (laser ablation and its applications) rather than one narrow technology. HPLA treats advances in all related aspects from basic physics to applications.

Since 2002, the International Symposia on Beamed Energy Propulsion have brought together organizations and individuals interested in developing beamed-energy propulsion vehicles, engines, schemes and concepts into space transportation systems of the future. BEP includes microwave sources as well as lasers as drivers. These meetings offer an exceptional opportunity for researchers in the BEP field to present the current results of their studies.

In 2018, for the third annual event, we will combine these meetings, in a similar way as CLEO and IQEC were combined, initially with separate program committees, topics, programs and generally parallel sessions. Registered attendees are welcome to attend any presentation of HPLA or BEP.

We are fortunate to have Blue52 Productions, Petoskey, MI as the event producer. Ms. Michelle Williams and her team will provide logistics and planning support.

Past keynote speakers for HPLA and BEP have included luminaries such as Prof. Charles Townes, Prof. Yuri Raizer, Prof. Arthur Kantrowitz, Prof. Oleg Krokhin, Dr. Raymond Kidder, Prof. Sadao Nakai, Prof. Gerard Mourou, Prof. Aaron Linderberg, Dr. Fabio Di Teodoro, Dr. Boris Zhdanov and Mr. Mark Neice.

We strive to provide a collegial atmosphere in which a wide array of specialists who might not otherwise meet can talk and learn from each other. Because we avoid more than two parallel sessions, space and time limit the number of oral presentations. For this reason, two evenings of poster sessions are planned.

- Dr. Claude Phipps, HPLA/BEP Chair

Comments From Previous Attendees

"We enjoyed the high scientific level of presentations, and we liked the hard discussions after the presentations. You have done your work very successfully. We believe that attendees are of the same opinion."

Keynote Speakers


Prof. Thomas Lippert

Paul Scherrer Institut, "Pulsed Laser Deposition (PLD): Back to the Basics"

Dr. Antonio Lucianetti

HiLASE Centre, "Overview of HiLASE Laser Program: Status and Prospects"

Mr. Frederic Masson

CNES, "Advanced Concepts for Space Transportation at CNES"

Mr. Mark Neice

Directed Energy Professional Society, "The Directed Energy Professional Society Educational Outreach Campaign"

Dr. David Moore

Los Alamos National Laboratory, "Shock Physics at the Nanoscale"